Enneagram Interviews Part 1: Making things right

enneagram-logo-yellow-dark-no1Welcome everybody to the first of my nine part series where I interview each of the nine personalities of the Enneagram. If you recall from some of my past articles, the Enneagram explores nine common ego archetypes that tend to appear again and again throughout human history, and the relationship these types have with each other. While we all have traits that match some of the Enneagram types, most people tend to favor one type more than any of the others. Each has their own outlook and way of life, and hopefully, through these interviews, you can get a better understanding of these basic ego types and how the effect us and interact with us.

Today I am interviewing the One, also known as the Reformer / Perfectionist. Welcome.

Thank you, Livewithwonder, for the opportunity and forum to express my concerns.

Concerns? What kind of concerns?

My main concerns are the problems of society, and the sheer number of problems society has seem endless. It is a real spiritual battlefield out there, and somebody needs to bring the order.

Is that somebody you?

I try.

I suppose this is a good time to ask you what it is you believe?

Fantastic. I would be happy to answer it. (By the way, your tie is crooked). I believe we need to work toward a more orderly, perfect world. There are so many wicked people out there, so many willing to cut corners. If we are all going to build a better world for ourselves, one that is fair and orderly, then everyone needs to pitch in. Not even one person can afford to be selfish, because that little grain of selfishness is all it takes to ruin it for everybody. Selfishness has to be stamped out. If people aren’t willing to do the right thing, they have to be stopped. They have to be corrected, pure and simple.

Opponents of your philosophy might ask who you are or what makes you so special to tell others what they can or cannot do.

See I don’t get that. To me it seems the obvious thing to build a better world, but I guess most people are too short-sighted or selfish.

Do you feel like you are better than them because of that?

Look, I’m aware that I’m not perfect. Believe me, I’m dreadfully aware, more than you know. Sometimes, I can’t stop beating myself up when I screw up, but I care at least. Too many people don’t care. Too many are unscrupled. One does not need to be perfect, so long as you are actually working toward perfection. Perfection is divine. What is the old saying? Cleanliness is next to godliness. You could argue that cleanliness is a form of perfection.

You like things very clean?

Creating a better world starts with one’s immediate environment. You cannot help others do the right thing if you are constantly distracted by things like dirt or clutter. You have to push and make things right for yourself before you can move on and help others.

What would you say are your greatest flaws?

Well, I really don’t like the word “flaw”, and I’m really hesitant to admit this, but I care so much about what I believe that I tend to be a bit, um, abrasive. I’ll admit that I’ve gotten into a shouting match or two when others didn’t see eye to eye with me, but some attitudes are just destructive and they need to be extinguished. It’s hard to get others to see your point of view when it involves telling them they are wrong about something or that they need to improve themselves, but it’s often the truth and needed for the greater good.

Tell me more about the people you argue with.

The evils of recklessness and deliberate deceit must be purged from our society. People like to act like it’s all about me as a way to villianize me, but nothing is further from the truth. It’s about us. It’s about society. It’s about what is best for everybody. The world is like a giant frat house where nobody wants to do the dishes. Well somebody’s got to, or guess what happens? Mold grows, ants crawl all over the kitchen, people eat everything out of paper plates or (groan) their hands. If we don’t discipline ourselves to be civilized, we become like animals. I’m not about to let that happen. If that comes off as disliking others or talking down to them, then so be it. I’m sorry, but it has to be said, doesn’t it?

Are there any personalities that you don’t get along well with?

Well, I’m not a gossip, but for the sake of getting things off my chest there is. Seven just drives me up the wall. You want to talk about selfish and reckless people? Seven is it. All he cares about is partying! Have you ever heard the fable of the ants and the cricket? It’s a story where the ants spend all of fall storing up food for the winter while the grasshopper just sings and plays his songs. Come winter, the ants have food and shelter and the cricket is just hopping around asking the ants to help him.

Seven is that cricket. He let’s others work hard, blows his money on pointless things, and then makes others help him when he inevitably gets himself in trouble. I don’t think seven can be serious about anything. It’s annoying. To continue with my metaphor, he would be the guy at the frat house who dirties all of his dishes and never goes back to clean them ever again, waiting for everyone else to clean up after him. If he would just care and stop wasting his life! Ugh.

Tell me about the two personalities you do get along well with, the nine and the two.

Nine is all about peace and unity, which I totally stand behind. Nine helps me relax. She’s just a great personality to talk to and be around and she values similar things as me. The only problem with her, respectfully, is that she has no backbone. I don’t even know what she really believes because she’s so wishy-washy. She’ll help me out, but I wish she stood up for her beliefs more often now and then. Still, she’s a wonderful friend, and I’m happy to know her.

Two cares about love, and will bend over backwards to help anybody. I really love that about her. Unlike nine, she’s willing to stand up for what she believes. She definitely cares, and she’s warm and friendly. Her biggest problem is that she’s a little needy at times. It’s like she expects people to do nice things for her because she does for them. I try to repay the favor, but it bothers me when others don’t. She takes it so personally and I feel bad for her.

The other thing about two is that she let’s her ideas about love confuse her and pull her away from doing the right thing from time to time. If people don’t return her love she freaks out (behind closed doors). I wish she would stop worrying so much about what people think of her and just do the right thing. That all said, she’s a fantastic friend, and everyone has their, erhm, flaws.

Is there anything else you’d like to share before we wrap this up?

I just want to encourage people to look to the vision, and focus on the overarching goal. We are building a better world, a world that is safer, where everyone can have their needs filled, but we need to work together.

Thank you for your time today one.

I should be the one thanking you for helping to tell my side of the story. Hopefully you understand it better.

I certainly do. Thank you.

You’re welcome. By the way, you have some spinach in your teeth.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

